Selected works of Virginia Woolf

Auteur: Viginia Woolf
Uitgever: Wordsworth Edition, London
ISBN: 9781840220582
Bindwijze: Softcover
Afmetingen: 15 x 23,2 x 3,8 cm
Gewicht: 862 gram
Aantal Pagina’s: 1019 blz
Jaar: 2005
Druk: 1e druk
Categorie: English
NB I.v.m. de afmetingen van het boek kan het niet als brievenbuspakje verzonden worden.



Contents: Jacob’s room, Mrs Dallloway, To the Lighthouse, Orlando, A Room of One’s own, The Waves, Three Guineas and Between the Acts. The delicate artistry and lyrical prose of Woolf’s novels have established her as a writer of sensitivity and profound talent. Virginia Woolf displays genuine humanity and concern for the experiences that enrich and stultify existence. In Mrs Dalloway, Society hostess, Clarissa Dalloway is giving a party and her thoughts on that one day, and the interior monologues of others with interwoven lives reveal the characters of the central protagonists. To the Lighthouse is the most autobiographical of Virginia Woolf’s novels. Based on her early experiences, it touches on childhood and children’s perceptions and desires. It is at its most trenchant when exploring adult relationships and the changing class-structure in the period spanning the Great War. Orlando, ‘the longest and most charming love letter in literature’, playfully constructs the figure of Orlando as the fictional embodiment of Woolf’s close friend and lover, Vita Sackville-West. ‘I am writing to a rhythm and not to a plot’, said Woolf of The Waves. Regarded as one of her greatest and most original works, it conveys the rhythms of life in synchrony with the cycle of nature and the passage of time’.

Extra informatie

Gewicht 2.001 kg
Afmetingen 15 × 23.2 × 3.8 cm

Goed: In prima conditie; lichte sporen van gebruik;